United States Flags throughout Time

the first flag of the united states…just after the revolution “Continental Colors”

Our Flag has changed many times throughout history…it seems each flag had it’s own name. I never knew that. But Memorial Day 2012, I learned something new. Imagine still learning about history long after school is out ūüėÄ

I wish history had been more personalized in school. I think I would have enjoyed it more….like children enjoy science fiction today.

Our FIRST flag was¬†namedGrand Union by George Preble in his 1872 history of the American flag. And now you are asking “WHO is George Preble?” right? George Henry Preble was born in February 1816 and was an American naval officer and a writer. He was noted for¬†taking the first photograph of the¬†Fort McHenry¬†flag that inspired¬†The Star-Spangled Banner.

“the Betsy Ross” flag of the United States

Our SECOND flag is the one we all think of as the “Betsy Ross” flag…You know the one with the circle of thirteen stars…. As a child, I always thought this was our first flag. That was always the impression I was given. There is so much history to teach and so little is actually given in schools…not to mention most students seem to be under the assumption that history is just a bunch of stories and names and dates that don’t matter any more….or that is the direction we come from in the fourth and fifth grade when the memorization becomes more of a mandatory thing. Is that where your point of view came from?

The Star Spangled Banner with 15 stars…

History was never really personalized enough for me to take a really good interest in it. I never liked memorization and couldn’t relate…so…there is a lot that I missed out on.

Then there is the “Star-Spangled Banner”….and while I know that most despise wikepedia as an information source and that’s ok. Please feel free to find another source and post it (whether opposed or not to the information here).

And for those that want to see the “rebel flag” or the “stars and bars” aka ” dixie flag and flag of the south….here’s a few things to look at through our history as well. While I realize

first confederate flag

things become something more than what they were intended and can be twisted over time, we still missed a lot of history and life’s lessons along the way. I find these small facts fascinating now…more so than I ever did in school. However I also am able to look at things from many different perspectives than I could have as a student in primary and secondary schools. I think that truly matters. I also believe that life is many shades and often we try to make it just black and white.

The Stainless Flag (second national flag for the confederate side)

Life in a black and white photo contains many shades of grey and white. Try ordering a wedding dress and telling “them” you want a white dress…. ivory, champagne, eggshell white, ecru, ….so many choices and sometimes very confusing…as is life.

The confederate side had national banners flown during the war and though I don’t remember that being a topic covered in history, I find it very interesting to view today.

The Confederacy and it’s flags.

History holds many stories, many secrets and many many things to learn from. The one thing I find very interesting about history today is the personal lifestyles of the people we can read about.

Their lives were so very different and yet our country’s history takes place on the very ground we walk on today. Watch re-enactments. See the clothes they wore. Tour a historic home as it was then. Read about the cultures that evolved from our roots and contributed to our attitudes and our lifestyle today.

What one person would YOU most like to know more about from US History?

Share your tales of History and the people that lived it HERE!…Who have you read about lately? How were YOU inspired by this person? Let us know when YOU like us on facebook, follow us on twitter, and check back for more photo blog posts HERE! Thanks for reading.

Author: misha00lowther

I have been shooting people since 1992 ..and I enjoy every minute! I love new things, new ways to be creative and new people. What better way to combine that then the art and fun of photography. Contact Me so WE can have some FUN!

Leave a Reply

