Everyone Knows Your Name…

I wanted to scope out a site for a halloween or goth shoot. I had a place in mind for a while and finally got the chance to stop in and do some test shots. the place isn’t as pristine as I thought (or had hoped)…and was actually more appalling than I could have imagined………..

half buried headstone

This headstone looks brand new. If it is indeed new then why is it half buried? How is it that the Director of the Cemetery lets this happen? The cemetery gets mowed but it seems that is all it gets.

Now I have no idea if this cemetery is a private cemetery, a county or city cemetery or who is responsible. Remember, this started out as a scouting mission for a future shoot of another kind. However, my Aunt does genealogy and a few other bloggers on here inspired me to post this as a blog. I think the people need to know and here is why…

still interring loved ones todayThis photo (to the left) was taken in the same cemetery on the same day as all the other photos in this blog post. Kevin J. Johnson was laid to rest in 2007. that is fairly recent and he obviously still has loved ones around that miss him. I would be outraged if I was his family! Well ok I am a little angry at this and I don’t have anyone laid to rest here that I know of…

which way?

You would think that this is two different graves, side by side. I have no idea. I can’t tell. I can tell you that this has a stone or cement edge around it and looks as though it could hold about four graves. There is only this marker inside the cement edge. the headstone you see is clearly visible. The writing is clear. The stone is actually facing west (the one you can read). That is one reason I believe this is the same marker. I think the stone came off of the base and was never put right. This is not the first….

bush whackedThis is a marker. It is in the back (north and west side) of the cemetery. If you can’t tell, there are yellow flowers trapped in the tree/shrubbery with the marker. I couldn’t even read the marker. I couldn’t get to it.

To me this screams of disrespect for the place you are suppose to care for. The sign clearly states there is a director and that any changes have to go through that person.

The only thing missing is a building that shows Director Rulesan office present or a phone number on how to reach this particular person. I would love be able to contact the Director! Hopefully after this post so will other people.

The southern end of the facility looks nice and kept up and even sports a brand new looking sign declaring what the name of the cemetery is….so glad of that much! I honestly hope this shows that they are working on cleaning it up…but OMG!!!

I was almost in tears after leaving this place and as I said, I don’t personally know any person nor do I have any relations laid to rest here. My Aunt was in tears. It was very upsetting to say the least.

There are several United States Soldiers laid to rest here. They date back to World War I!

There are soldiers who served in WWI, WWII, Korea, and there are many children laid to rest here also.

Their sign is misleading to me. It clearly states “Dedicated to those we love…rest in peace”

There are so many that just don’t look at peace….undisturbed, cared-for graves are one thing. Graves that are trodden over every day….??? This next photo is a grave that is obviously in the middle of a path…the only way to get to the wooded area….

I can’t see how this person or their relativesPath way OVER my grave? would have any peace. When you lay someone to rest, it isn’t suppose to be in the path of someone…walking on graves is suppose to be disrespectful.  Yet if you look here, you can see that walking over the Martin grave is the only way to get to the one in the back of the photo.

At first I thought this was the worst of it.

It turns out, if you look at the weeds that are about waste high in the right of the picture, there is a grave marker hidden in the weeds and bushes. I was totally appalled!

I have had people ask me if this was a pauper’s cemetery or other various types and the answer is “I don’t know”. I only know what the signs say and what I saw. All of that….or most of that, I am sharing with you here.

Let me know your thoughts on the matter….and if you know whether or not this problem is being worked on or is a really big problem spiraling southward….I won’t mind hearing about that either……Leave a comment! Please!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: misha00lowther

I have been shooting people since 1992 ..and I enjoy every minute! I love new things, new ways to be creative and new people. What better way to combine that then the art and fun of photography. Contact Me so WE can have some FUN!

4 thoughts on “Everyone Knows Your Name…”

  1. I was confused at first when reading this. 2 things I didn’t understand. First, I didn’t get the problem with the grave in the first picture. It’s 40 years old and has dirt partially covering it. It didn’t register at first that there was anything wrong with that (though on reflection, that does feel like poor maintenance). Second, I didn’t understand what was wrong with Kevin Johnson’s grave, it looked nice and well taken care of. I looked at the picture a few times to see what was wrong, but couldn’t figure it out.

    As I kept reading I understood what you were saying, and agree that this seems like a terribly maintained cemetary. Hopefully it is getting cleaned up.

    NOTE: A cemetary like this *would* make for good photo ops and is probably creepy looking after dark with all the overgrowth and haphazard arrangements. But that doesn’t mean it’s respectful of those buried there.

    1. The 1st photo is of a new looking marker….and yet it is buried. (ouch!)
      Kevin Johnsons’s marker was pristine…used as a contrast and to make a point of all this happening in the same place.
      People want to be remembered. That is one purpose of graves and headstones…another is public records and such that help genealogists and historians.
      this particular place is in shambles….and definitely needs a touch of love so those like Kevin Johnson don’t end up with buried markers…or worse… (disrespectful to say the least)….You would never see ANY grave at Arlington Cemetery in poor shape. There are veterans here too….respect sometimes seems to get lost.

      1. That totally makes sense. You’re saying that Kevin Johnson’s family should be upset b/c there is a good chance that his currently-pristine gravesite will probably be in shambles at some point b/c of the poor maintenance.

Leave a Reply

