Summer’s Inhabitants

Summer brings hiking into the realm of activities. I have hiked Redbud Valley Nature Center, Oxley Nature Center, and Springfield Conservation Nature Center trails.

Here are some of the things that have inhabited my summer hikes so far:

I love nature. I like to know what plants are what and the names of the flowers I see. I enjoy watching the butterflies and dragonflies flit from here to there….

I am a nature lover. I could spend all day just photographing the things I see on a hike…. or a walk… or just that appear from “nowhere”.

Nature intrigues me. I am curious and amazed at a lot of things….sometimes too easily. I still enjoy every minute of it.

I can’t always name what I see (if you can, please leave a comment)…but I love watching summer’s inhabitants.

 

 

The guys had as much fun chasing this little orange striped creature around and around the log….not sure if it was for my benefit (to photograph) or for their fun….but we all got our exercise and a photo out of it.

 

 

This black and yellow winged creature was actually in my Aunt’s flower garden alongside her driveway. I just happened to have my camera along that day and couldn’t resist snapping his photo.

I am intrigued with nature where ever I may find it…

I so dearly wish I had had a waterproof camera over the weekend. I had a swarm of blue dragonflies over the water on the Illinois River on our Father’s Day canoe trip….and I even had the amazing moment of having one land on my finger and just sit there and watch… sooo awesome! Unfortunately….no photograph to share of that one.  Maybe next time.

This little guy is one of a pair of barn swallows that have tried and tried to

make a nest over my front porch. However, that didn’t work out so well for them or their young. Three little chicks in the nest and none survived…..Can’t do that again this year… so I have washed away the beginnings of their nest each time they have tried to build it this year. They are beautiful to watch. They eat mosquitos and other insects so it is nice to have them around. I just wish there was a nice, safe place for them to nest other than my front porch (which doesn’t really workout for either of us).

Well….enjoy the summer and share your hiking finds here in the comments section!

Look forward to hearing more from you all!

 

Author: misha00lowther

I have been shooting people since 1992 ..and I enjoy every minute! I love new things, new ways to be creative and new people. What better way to combine that then the art and fun of photography. Contact Me so WE can have some FUN!

One thought on “Summer’s Inhabitants”

  1. Fascinating creatures all. Hiking is great if one stops and looks at things. Many people seem to regard it as a marathon – all they want to do is complete the walk so they can say they’ve done it. I like covering slightly more territory, so rather fancy using a mountain bike – but at a leisurely pace.

Leave a Reply

